Black Butler (Kuroshitsuji) follows young Ciel Phantomhive and his demon butler, Sebastian Michaelis, who was summoned to help Ciel avenge the brutal death of his family. Set in England, this series is an adaptation of the Black Butler manga.

In exchange for Ciel’s soul, Sebastian must loyally serve and protect Ciel whenever he is summoned — this could involve saving his life or making a cup of tea.

sebastian
Sebastian Michaelis 

Sebastian and Ciel work together to solve mysteries detective-style in mid-century England.

Oh yeah, and Sebastian loves cats.

kitty

I watched this show a few years back with my mom (yes, she loves anime too) so I don’t remember a lot about it without giving away spoilers.

What I do know, is that Black Butler is a thoroughly entertaining show that contains dark mystery (demon possessing the soul of a 13-year-old boy), comedic relief (a demon who loves kitties!!) and thrilling crime-solving elements.

BTW, remember to watch every episodes PAST the ending credits. I went to the next episode and skipped the closing credits, but didn’t realize I was missing some important plot points until I got super confused for no reason. So yep, I learned my lesson of making sure to watch every episode to the last second.

Where to watch it: Crunchyroll (sub), Hulu (sub), Funimation (sub)

Number of Episodes: 25

* Crunchyroll and Hulu only have 25 episodes, which is just season 1. Funimation’s website has a few extra episodes.

Air Date: 2008-2009